Minutes of the emergent meeting (24 $^{\rm th}$ meeting) of the Senate held on 22 $^{\rm nd}$ February 2008 in the Senate Hall of the Institute.

The following were present: -

1.	Prof. S.C. Saxena, Director		- Chairman
2.	Prof. R.P. Singh	(Biotechnology)	
3.	Prof. Bilash Mohanty	(Chemical Engg.)	
4.	Prof. Shri Chand	(Chemical Engg.)	
5.	Prof. I.D. Mall	(Chemical Engg.)	
6.	Prof. G. Bhattacharjee	(Chemistry)	
7.	Prof. Kamaluddin	(Chemistry)	
8.	Prof. Anil Kumar	(Chemistry)	
9.		(Chemistry)	
10.	9	(Civil Engineering)	
11.		(Civil Engineering)	
12.		(Civil Engineering)	
13.		(Civil Engineering)	
14.		(Civil Engineering)	
15.	1 0	(Civil Engineering)	
16.		(Civil Engineering)	
17.	Prof. Mahendra Singh	(Civil Engineering)	
	Prof. N.K. Samadhiya	(Civil Engineering)	
	Prof. Ashwani Kumar	(Earthquake Engg.)	
20.	Prof. H. Sinvhal	(Earth Sciences)	
21.	Prof. H.O. Gupta	(Electrical Engg.)	
22.	<u>-</u>	(Electrical Engg.)	
23.	Prof. R.P. Agarwal	(E. & C. Engg.)	
24.	_	(E. & C. Engg.)	
25.	Prof. D.K. Mehra	(E. & C. Engg.)	
26.	Prof. Kumkum Garg	(E. & C. Engg.)	
27.	_	(E. & C. Engg.)	
28.	Prof. N.K. Goel	(Hydrology)	
29.	Prof. A.K. Ray	(Paper Technology)	
30.	Prof. V.K. Nangia	(Management Studies)	
31.	Prof. G.S. Srivastava	(Mathematics)	
32.	Prof. S.P. Sharma	(Mathematics)	
33.	Prof. R.C. Mittal	(Mathematics)	
34.	Prof. V.K. Katiyar	(Mathematics)	
35.	Prof. Roshan Lal	(Mathematics)	
36.	Prof. S. Ray	(Met. & Mat. Engg.)	
37.	Prof. (Mrs.) Vijaya Agarwala	(Met. & Mat. Engg.)	
38.	Prof. S.K. Nath	[Met. & Mat. Engg.)	
39.	Prof. Jagdish Rai	(Physics)	
40.	_	(Physics)	
41.	Prof. U.C. Chaube	(W.R.D. &M.)	

- 42. Prof. Ram Pal Singh (W.R.D. & M.)
- 43. Prof. Ashwani K. Chaudhry (I.I.C.)
- 44. Mr. Arun Kumar, Head, AHEC
- 45. Mr. Yogendra Singh, Librarian
- 46. Dr. U.P. Singh, Associate Professor, Chemistry
- 47. Dr. M.L. Mittal, Associate Professor, Mathematics
- 48. Mr. S. Chakravorty, Assistant Professor, E&CE
- 49. Lt.Col. (Retd.) A.K. Srivastava, Registrar

- Secretary

The Chairman welcomed the members to the emergent meeting (24th Meeting) of the Senate. He stated that the meeting was convened to consider a new M.Tech. programme on "Nanotechnology" to be started from the session 2008-09 by the Centre of Nanotechnology.

The Senate recorded the communications received from the following members for not attending the meeting:

- 1. Prof. N.M. Bhandari, Department of Civil Engineering
- 2. Prof. M.K. Arora, Department of Civil Engineering
- 3. Prof. M. Parida, Department of Civil Engineering.
- 4. Prof. G.K. Singh, Department of Electrical Engineering

The agenda was then taken up.

Item No.24.1: To consider a new M. Tech. programme on "Nanotechnology" to be started from the session 2008-09 by the Centre of Nanotechnology.

After deliberation, the Senate decided that the proposal for starting a new M. Tech. programme on "Nanotechnology" from the session 2008-09 by the Centre of Nanotechnology be accepted in principle.

Further decided that the teaching scheme and course structure for M.Tech. in Nanotechnology should be in line with the M.Tech. courses in the other Departments. Inputs be taken from the DPC of the Department of Electronics & Computer Engineering regarding the courses which have to be taught by that department, as well as the other issues raised during the meeting. The suggestions that are received from Department of Electronics the Computer Engineering and other departments, should be incorporated in the scheme of teaching of the new course as well as in the course structures of the

affected courses. After incorporating the suggestions made by the members on the floor as well as those received from the departments, the scheme of teaching and the course structures for the M.Tech. course in Nanotechnology be placed before the Board, PGS&R for consideration. The Senate authorized the Director (Chairman, Senate) to approve the recommendations of the Board, PGS&R, with the proviso that the approval so accorded should be reported in the next meeting of the Senate.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

MEETING SECTION INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY ROORKEE ROORKEE 247 667

No. IITR/MS/Senate(02/2008)/1743

Dated 29.2.2008

Copy forwarded to all members of the Senate with the request that comments, if any, on the minutes may please be sent to the Meeting Section within 15 days.

Offtg. Registrar